Release Day – Twisted Bond by Emma Hart @EmmaHartAuthor

TwistedBond_highI’m an Italian-Texan woman in a family full of cops. I’m passionate and shoot before I think. You only f*ck with me if you’re stupid.

Photograph cheating spouses. Hand over the evidence. Cash my check.

That was my plan when I returned home to Holly Woods, Texas, and became a private investigator.

Finding the dead body in my dumpster? Yeah… Given the choice, I think I would have opted out of that little discovery, especially since all three of my brothers are cops. And my Italian grandmother is sure the reason I’m single is because of my job.

Of course, my connection to the victim is entirely coincidental. Until I’m hired by her husband to investigate her murder and shoved bang-smack into the path of Detective Drake Nash.

My nemesis, a persistent pain in my ass, and one hell of a sexy son of a bitch.

Shame he still holds a grudge from that time I shot him in the foot twelve years ago, or we could have something. In another life.

So now all I have to do is avoid my nonna’s blind dates, try not to blackmail my brothers into giving me confidential police files, and absolutely do not point my gun at Drake Nash. Or kiss him. Or jump his bones.

All while I hunt down the killer.

Sounds totally simple—until a second body proves that sometimes things that start as coincidences don’t always end up that way…

 

(Twisted Bond is book one of the Holly Woods Files series and while it does not end in a cliffhanger, it is not a standalone.)

 

 

“Why are you here?”
He pulls his ear defenders down. “Out here?”
“Here.” I yank off my ear defenders. “At my parents’ for family dinner. Out here, bugging me. Take your pick. I’ll take a reason for either.”
“Your nonna appears to have taken a real good likin’ to me. If I didn’t know better, I’d say she’s tryna set us up.”
“Clearly, she’s losin’ her mind,” I snap, reloading my gun again before tucking it back into my boot. I fold my arms and meet his eyes. “And out here? Why are you here?”
Nothing. Just silence. Just those goddamned beautiful eyes boring into mine.
“No? Okay.” I walk past him, pushing hair from my face.
“Don’t go out with him again.” His arm shoots out to stop me, and his words hit me hard. “Gio.”
“Since when has it been any of your business what I do?” I face him, narrowing my eyes as our gazes collide. “Last I checked, I’m a single, grown woman, and if I want to go out with someone, I will.”
“He’s not the kind of guy you need.”
“Neither are you,” I reply, running my eyes down his white shirt, which is untucked over his dark-blue jeans. The bottom of his shirt is gaping, allowing me a view of a triangle of tan skin with a smattering of dark hair. I linger there for a moment before pulling my gaze back up. “Yet here we are, having this conversation, you thinkin’ you know what’s best for me.”

 

DSC_9249By day, New York Times and USA Today bestselling New Adult author Emma Hart dons a cape and calls herself Super Mum to two beautiful little monsters. By night, she drops the cape, pours a glass of whatever she fancies – usually wine – and writes books.

Emma is working on Top Secret projects she will share with her followers and fans at every available opportunity. Naturally, all Top Secret projects involve a dashingly hot guy who likes to forget to wear a shirt, a sprinkling (or several) of hold-onto-your-panties hot scenes, and a whole lotta love.

She likes to be busy – unless busy involves doing the dishes, but that seems to be when all the ideas come to life.

Release Day Blitz – Review & Giveaway – Wayward Son by @MichelleYDay @ProdigalSon_1

Release Day Blitz & Giveaway

Wayward Son Book 3 of The Jensen Family Series

by Michelle Day

wayward son cover michelle day

Gavin Jensen’s world has been turned upside down.

Grieving and with only a tenuous hold on his temper, he is taken from everything he has ever known.
Full of anger for the man who ruined everything, he wants to hate him.

But this chance Gavin has been given, it’s a clean slate. All his previous indiscretions have been left behind, buried with his mother. Paul Jensen is becoming the father he knew he could be, his son just needs to let go of the past.

But when Gavin grabs a hold of life, his actions ignite a chain of events that could leave him shattered.

Add Wayward Son to your Goodreads TBR

 1e906-add-to-goodreads-button31

Buy Link

amazon logo


My Review

Wayward Son, the third book in The Jensen Family Series does not disappoint and was a most enjoyable read for me.  This story continues where Father and Son, book 2 leaves off.  Gavin, Paul’s son is the main protagonist in this book.  Wayward Son is his story and just like his father Paul, Gavin is quite the character.  You could say he is a chip off the old block.  Gavin is however, different from his father in some ways. and that’s exactly what I enjoyed most about him.  He’s not predictable. Gavin did inherit endearing qualities from his dad and as you read, you to will be pleased to see how his character develops.

You will find humor in this book.  After all, Gavin is 18 years old.  His college days make for funny and intense moments.  Beautiful girls such as Angel and Kiera become part of his life but I won’t tell you too much about them because I am trying to keep this review spoiler free.

Novak, (Luke) is also another important character in this book.  You may remember him. He is the best friend Gavin grew up with. He is the brother from another mother who has been an integral part of his life since he was born.  His role, the voice of reason for Gavin was perfectly written.  They are more like brothers than best friends.

All of the characters from The Jensen/Paloma family are back and that made this third book complete.  I love being able to keep up with the characters from previous books.

Paul and his new bride Suzanne share a loving and passionate relationship in this book.  Suzanne makes an understanding and outstanding step-mother for Gavin. She continues to be my favorite out of Paul’s women.  She is a lovely woman who keeps it all together.  And of course, Paul is….well…Paul, just more mature.  Michelle keeps him true to his younger cheeky character from the previous books.

There are many reasons why I enjoyed Wayward Son so much.  One is Michelle’s choice of cars for her characters. Well, what can I say? I like cars. I was taken back to my younger years with Gavin’s Supra.  Additionally, Gavin’s personality and taste are unique.  I did mention that he’s not predictable.

Gavin is a talented young man.  His many talents and lifestyle make him the talk of his college, especially to Quinn, a character who immediately clashes with him.  You’ll read all about his adventures and love this young man just as much as I do.

Of course, just like his father, Gavin loves women. So, prepare yourself and enjoy reading all about Paul’s son.

Thank you Michelle for writing about this family I love so much.  Your unique characters along with a brilliant plot and writing hooked me from the start and I look forward to reading more.   I am ready for book 4.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

I gave this book 5 stars!

5 stars


 

giveaway

Enter to win one complete set of this series.  The winner will receive an eBook of Prodigal Son, Father & Son and Wayward Son.

Leave a comment on this post to enter.  One lucky winner will be selected via random.org on Friday at noon (EST) and will be notified via email.

No purchase necessary to win.  Enter and Good luck!

 


  Previous Books in this series

prodigal sonProdigal Son Book 1

1e906-add-to-goodreads-button31

amazon logo

father and son cover michelle day

Father & Son Book 2

1e906-add-to-goodreads-button31

amazon logo


Michelle Day’s Social Media

michelle day image

a34a9-twitterbutton

 Paul a34a9-twitterbutton

Michelle Day on Facebook79cc1-facebookbutton