What’s in the Author’s Bag? Jennifer and Morgan Locklear reveal… @MJLocklear @RandomCran

what's in the author's bag banner for blog

 

 Have you ever wondered what is inside of your favorite author’s bag?  Well, Jennifer and Morgan Locklear share it all today on this week’s segment.  Enjoy!

 

jenn purse

 

Jennifer:

When it comes to my purse, I’m a minimalist. The less in there, the better and I’m always on a quest to find the smallest bag I can get away with.  I clean out my purse practically every morning before I leave the house because I can’t handle the prospect of toting around unneeded clutter, but there are a few items that are absolutely essential…

My wallet from London.  It was gifted to me and, all things considered, has held up remarkably well. My wallet is crammed full of business cards, gift cards, club cards, the recipe for a favorite alcoholic beverage, my driver’s license, my bank cards, some cash, a perpetual shopping list (why keep creating a list for the staples over and over again when I can be writing other things?) and a key card from the Heathman Hotel, which I must have forgotten to turn in to the front desk. Oops.

My keys.  I actually have two sets of keys – one for the car and one for everything else. I only displayed one set here because this keychain is a souvenir I bought during a trip to Canada a few years ago. Look closely and you might recognize the place I visited.

My EpiPen.  I have a severe peanut allergy that has landed me in trouble more than once.  After a particularly bad incident during my 20’s landed me in the ER overnight, my doctor told me the EpiPen would have to maintain a permanent residence in my bag. I’ve never had to use it, but I do admit it gives me peace of mind.

My Writing Journal and Pen.  My brain is always being bombarded with random bits of conversational exchanges. I found out the hard way that if I didn’t jot down notes right away, I’d forget the specifics later. I began carrying the journal with me so I can write moments down as soon as the inspiration hits. I don’t always know what my characters are talking about, but I record their thoughts and figure it out later. The journal helps me clear out my brain, kind of like how I clear out my purse. I honestly feel lost if I don’t have it nearby.

My Book of the Moment. This can either be a paperback or my kindle. There are several times a week when I’m just waiting somewhere for something, and those are perfect moments to pull out a book and read a few pages. Right now, I’m reading Days of Blood & Starlight, the second book in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone Series by Laini Taylor (a fellow Oregonian). My good friend, Mango, visited my home in April and brought this series to my attention when we visited Powell’s Bookstore in Portland.  It’s so good!

My Phone and My Charger. I can’t show you the phone because I used it to take this photo.  If my phone dies, so do I. Nuff said.

 

mog box

 

Morgan:

I don’t have a purse, of course, and my wallet doesn’t have much, so I chose to expose the little catch all box I keep on my night stand.  It’s a box my sister gave me for my 40th birthday that’s painted with a New York City subway map.  Mostly I keep fun stuff in there, a tin of Beatles guitar picks, some Star Wars Attack of the Clones film cells, a pocket knife, a mini flashlight, a cool Celtic sun bracelet I got in Hollywood when Jenn and I went to see a-ha in concert and a device called a monocular. It helps me see sporting events and other things when I am in a large crowd.

The CD is a digital copy of a fascinating book that was discovered a hundred years ago but no one can decipher.  It’s called The Voynich Manuscript and it is filled with drawings of plants both domestic and foreign to Earth.  It’s written in a language no one has ever seen before and also contains some amazing star charts.  This digital copy allows detailed analysis but I am no closer than the world’s top scientists in decoding the narrative.

I keep my keys and glasses in the box at night, and occasionally some Jolly ranchers.

 

Wow!  Jennifer carries lots of goodies in her bag.  I am looking forward to reading your next book.    Morgan, I love that you shared that personal box of yours with your fans/readers.

 

Thank you both for participating in this week’s post.

~Susi

 

Keep up to date with Jennifer and Morgan Locklear

79cc1-facebookbutton

 

a34a9-twitterbutton

 

42d87-waxcreative-goodreads

 

Morgan and Jennifer Locklear met in 1989 as teenagers and became high school sweethearts. They have been married since 1995 and live in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States with their two children, a son and daughter.

Although both enjoyed creative writing in their youth, they have only been working as a writing team since 2010. Since then they have created a dozen full-length and short stories together.

 


Have you read their debut book?  

Here’s my review.

by Jennifer and Morgan Locklear

by Jennifer and Morgan Locklear

1e906-add-to-goodreads-button31

 

amazon logo

Publicist Shaunna Noble is no stranger to the ego-filled dysfunction of Hollywood’s elite, but is she ready for her two biggest clients to turn into her worst nightmare?

Kyle Petersen and Michelle Cooper are Hollywood royalty, everyone’s favorite celebrity couple, but while on location filming their new summer blockbuster, Kyle ambushes his wife with divorce papers and orders Shaunna to destroy Michelle in the media. Unwilling to comply, Shaunna spectacularly and publicly quits her job, humiliating Kyle in the process.

David Quinn, a struggling actor cast alongside the A-listers, is caught in the crossfire. When pictures surface of David and Michelle out on the town, media and fans rush to crown them Hollywood’s new hot couple. Kyle explodes, tensions boil over, and everyone’s lives and careers are thrown into jeopardy.

So what’s a publicist to do? Especially when Shaunna finds herself falling in love with the sexy and talented David. Can she put out fires on the set while keeping the flames burning in the bedroom?

Love, lies and passion. What happens when the naked truth is exposed?