Susi Interviews – Michelle Day, Author @MichelleYDay

Susi Interviews Michelle Day, Author

Prodigal Son, Father & Son, Cain’s Way

 

I love interviewing my favorite authors.  For today’s author interview, I bring you Michelle Day, author of Prodigal Son, Father & Son and Cain’s Way.

 

Susi:  How long have you been writing?

Michelle:  I started the first draft of Prodigal Son at age fifteen. As I’m now in my forties, that’s quite some time.

Susi:    When did your passion for writing begin?

Michelle: At secondary school. I was one of the few who enjoyed writing essays.

Susi:  What is your favorite genre to write?

Michelle: I would have to say that depends on where my head is at. I thoroughly enjoyed writing Cain’s Way but I equally love the Jensens.

Susi:  What books are you currently working on?

Michelle: I am working on book 3 of the Jensen Family Series which will be called Wayward Son and I’m also penning the second Tate Pack Novella which is called Loren’s Salvation. I’ve also just unearthed something that I started back in 2012. It’s another change of direction for me and it’s called Switch. I will concentrate a little more on that one once Wayward Son and Loren’s Salvation are out.

Susi:  Wow, You are a busy woman.  When do you write?  Any specific routines?

Michelle:  I have to be in a certain mindset to write and my characters need to be talking to me. I can write almost anywhere and don’t mind distractions, just don’t try to read over my shoulder. That’s a major irritation for me.

Susi:  When not writing, what are your hobbies or interests?

Michelle:  I read. A lot. I’ll read anything. I also like to research things which may happen to my characters and can get very involved in that.

Susi:  What inspires you to write?  Music, a muse?

Michelle:  I always have music going. Certain tracks will inspire scenes or character traits. I also find it useful to have a muse. It’s always good to have something nice to look at.

Susi:  Who were your muses for the Prodigal Son and Father & Son characters?

Michelle:  For Paul, of course, Bernardo Velasco and for Gavin,  Taylor Kitsch. I am still working on a muse for Matt. I can see him in my minds eye but he’s yet to take a physical form.

Susi:  Who was your muse for Cain’s Way?

Michelle:  Cain came to me in the shower with his description. I would have trouble putting a face to his character but once the picture was found that is on the cover, I knew that he was Cain.

Susi:  How long does it generally take you to write a book?

Michelle:  That depends on the book. Cain took one month which is a record for me. Father and Son took two years. I’m currently on a roll and being productive so I’d say typically for a full length novel, somewhere between nine to twelve months.

Susi:  Describe a typical writing day for Michelle Day.

Michelle:  Each day is different. Some days I will write all day. Others, I’ll write for an hour and be done with it. I do always start by going back over what was written the previous day and trying to pick up any spelling, punctuation and grammatical errors before I start to write again.

Susi:  Do you have any advice to offer to any indie authors?

Michelle:  Keep at it. It’s not always easy and I’ve felt like giving up especially as sales are low but I love my characters and have faith in them. I think as long as you believe in what you write, you will find your niche and with it an audience.

Susi:  Your biggest mistake as a writer? If any?

Michelle:  Not asking for help. I still don’t like to and as a result, I don’t know many people in the book world.

 

Rapid Fire

 

Pet Peeve:  the your /you’re error

First thing you notice about a person:  Eyes on meeting. Bum as they walk away.

Hidden talents:   I don’t think I have any.

Currently Reading:  Conviction. Nicole Edwards

Fave drink:   Lime milkshake

Fave TV Show:  Currently, Poldark

Fave Book: Black Beauty is a story that will always stay with me.

Fave Movie:  Fast and Furious franchise

 

Any parting words from the author…

Watch this space, I have plenty of things planned for the Jensens. Can you imagine Paul with grandchildren?

 

Oh…  Wow! I can’t wait for more Paul.  As a grandfather, oh my!

Thank you Michelle for taking time from your busy schedule for this interview.  Happy Writing!

~Susi

Reading and Writing Between the Wines Blog


 

Books by Michelle Day

ps updated cover

 

 Prodigal Son

Amazon

father and son cover michelle day

 

Father & Son

Amazon

Amazon UK

Kobo

cain's way cover

 Amazon


Connect with Michelle Day

a34a9-twitterbutton

 

79cc1-facebookbutton

 

 

42d87-waxcreative-goodreads