Throwback Thursday – The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Throwback Thursday

 

I love looking for books to showcase on my Throwback Thursday posts.  This week, I decided to take it back to the early school years.   The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle was one of my older son’s favorite books when he was in Pre-K.  I can’t remember how many times I read this book to him before going to bed.  I love Eric Carle’s books.  This one is my favorite as well.  For that reason, it made my Throwback Thursday post this week.

I consider this book to be a classic and should be part of every child’s early reading experiences.  It still has a special place on my bookshelves after all these years.

 

the very hungry caterpillar

 

Suitable for children, this title covers colorful collage illustrations and its deceptively simply, hopeful story. It features die-cut pages and finger-sized holes to explore.

 

About Eric Carle

Eric Carle (born June 25, 1929) is a children’s book author and illustrator, most famous for his book The Very Hungry Caterpillar, which has been translated into over 30 languages. Since The Very Hungry Caterpillar was published in 1969, Eric Carle has illustrated more than seventy books, many best sellers, most of which he also wrote, and more than 71 million copies of his books have sold around the world.

http://www.eric-carle.com/