Throwback Thursday – Fun with Dick and Jane

dick and jane cover

Throwback Thursday: Fun with Dick and Jane 

 

 

How many of you remember this series of books?  I recently found several of them that I purchased at an antique shop in St. Augustine, Florida.  I shared them with my students who found the books to be quite amusing.  I never read them when I was in school.  Did you?

With innocent entertaining exploits and simple repetitive declarations, these charming characters helped millions of Americans learn to read.

These books were actually used between the 1930’s-1970’s in schools.  I can’t imagine using these books to teach students today.

“Look, Jane, ” said Dick.  “Here is something funny.  Can you guess what it is?”

 

Do you remember any of your childhood readers?

Feel free to comment.

 

Happy Thursday!

~Susi