Throwback Thursday – Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

Today’s Throwback Thursday post takes me back to high school. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad is a classic.   It was a required reading back then, and still is today.

Honestly, this book was one of those I dreaded. I wasn’t interested in the content of the book. In fact, I managed to skip out of class during the time the teacher was having literary discussions on it.  I do recall buying the Cliff Notes version and yes, I actually passed the exams.  (Thanks Cliff Notes.)  Of course, I did watch the movie at the end of the semester.  Now, many years later, I can see the literary value behind this book. I chose this as my Throwback Thursday read after spotting it on my son’s shelf.

How many of you have read this book?  Did you read the Cliff Notes version?  Did you watch the movie?

heart of darkness

Dark allegory describes the narrator’s journey up the Congo River and his meeting with, and fascination by, Mr. Kurtz, a mysterious personage who dominates the unruly inhabitants of the region. Masterly blend of adventure, character development, psychological penetration. Considered by many Conrad’s finest, most enigmatic story.

 

Leave a Reply, I'd love to hear from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.